Itchy has had one glass of wine today, and she has just come into the room incoherent with laughter, trying to articulate something about a song about boxes? Or socks? And now she’s disappeared again. I fear it’s the jellyfish incident all over again.

Today we have been exploring the Winelands east of Cape Town. As two people who don’t drink (me) or drink very little (Itchy), I fear we have not fully appreciated the various vineyards we’ve stopped at and explored, but we’ve certainly appreciated the really stunning scenery.  

Tomorrow is going to be about eating: we’re planning to go to the pancake house for breakfast, then we’ve booked a mid-morning chocolate-tasting session, followed by lunch, before I drive back to Cape Town to catch my flight to Johannesburg ready for the third Test. Itchy is flying the day after me and has booked herself on a wineries tour to fill the time before her flight. It remains to be seen whether she successfully arrives at the airport after sampling the delights of the region.

Itchy update: she has finished weighing all the cushions in the apartment, and is now in bed. It’s 8:24. I have remembered why we don’t let her have alcohol.